Preserving the Harvest 2010

    

Preserving The Harvest 2010

This year I had the most fun ever canning our harvest and local produce and some not so local like my peaches I got for a steal!  Canning is rewarding and while it is not instant gratification it is extremely gratifying.  I can’t take all the credit either because my daughter helped me make my peach salsa this year and my husband always pitches in it can become quite a family passion!

     This year we canned the following: (many of the recipes I took from the Ball Book I call it the canning Bible but I always tweak recipes to make them slightly my own anyway!

peach jam

blueberry butter

peach salsa 

My Peach Salsa

My Peach Salsa

peach butter

relish

canned tomatoes/italian canned tomatoes

barbecue sauce

spicy salsa/salsa

peaches

and pepper jelly.

My Pepper Jelly

My Pepper Jelly

I am still hoping to put up more pepper jelly for the holidays for gifts and some applesauce this fall!

About Lil' Suburban Homestead

We love to garden, raise chickens, cook, read and all in all run my lil' suburban homestead. We have a passion for living sustainably with the earth which can be challenging at times. We recycle, hang our clothes out on the line and raise some of our own food!
This entry was posted in Canning Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Preserving the Harvest 2010

  1. Mary says:

    Yum! Everything looks and sounds yummy, but it was kind of like torture…. I could look but not touch, smell, taste…..

    • KarenLynn says:

      Mary that is so funny! I love looking at canning blogs but I always have plans to make what I am reading about……………….I just wish I had more time now!

  2. KarenLynn says:

    Thanks for the compliment! I appreciate it!

Leave a comment