It’s Wash Day

In many households women used to follow a weekly schedule….thank goodness I don’t have to do that because I would fail completely.  Don’t get me wrong I have friends who still do but I rarely would follow a schedule it just did not work.  This is also what will have me outside at night at 8pm checking on my chickens and the hives with my husband.   My pantry is stocked but I  may not know what I want to eat until the day of.  Speaking of meal schedule’s one of my next blogging topics will be on the monthly menu!  I set it up I know many of you are like what that’s a lot of work….  Well it is and it isn’t I am not a stickler for following the schedule but it does help remind me of what I have available to cook up therefore avoiding the urge to grab take out, thereby saving lots of cash!  Saving money means I can put some money aside to buy a local side of beef.  It’s a win win situation!  Good for me and good for farmers but I will get into that the next time I post.  Sorry for my rambling….Anyway here is my recipe for my homemade laundry detergent.  I always make a double batch and it works great!  I love the way this smells when I wash my sheets and towels and hang them on the line!  This is not very labor intensive once you are organized and it is part of your routine.  Here is what you need a big stainless steel pot, I use a really big one!  a 5 gallon bucket, a grater, a wooden spoon, a funnel, an empty gallon container, a large container with lid to hold soap and I keep an empty laundry soap container too.  Here is the recipe I use!  I got it from this website “The Family Homestead” but I have changed it and tweaked it so you can make it the way I do or the way she does but they both work great!

The big difference between that recipe and mine is that I double the batch completely and I grate 1/3 of a bar of Fels Naptha and instead of doubling that part of the recipe I grate 1/3 of a bar of Octagon.

Wash Day

This blog post is linked to:

About Lil' Suburban Homestead

We love to garden, raise chickens, cook, read and all in all run my lil' suburban homestead. We have a passion for living sustainably with the earth which can be challenging at times. We recycle, hang our clothes out on the line and raise some of our own food!
This entry was posted in Making Your Home A Haven, The Suburban Homestead Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to It’s Wash Day

  1. michelle says:

    Can you use this in He front load washer.

  2. Pingback: Our Story Was Featured at Old World Garden Farms & Spruce Up For Greenhouse Tour | Lil' Suburban Homestead

  3. Pingback: Who Doesn’t Like Free? | Lil' Suburban Homestead

Leave a comment